Hallelujah, You Want It Darker

796103-120120-leonard-cohen

 

If you are the dealer

I’m out of the game

If thine is the glory

Then mine must be the shame

You want it darker

We kill the flame

 

 

Still a young man at eighty-two, Mr Cohen is much older than that, indeed it is possible that the mysterious dark matter that holds the universe together is simply his spirit. In his early albums (the debut released when he was a spry thirty-two year old) and the novels and poetry that preceded it, the mix of God (in all its forms), love (in all its forms) and politics (in all its forms) was there but over the years the shift has gone from love-politics-God. One of the most striking things about the new album is Mr Cohen’s seeming return to Judaism. The last few albums showed the influence of his Buddhism (ordained he never converted from the religion of his fathers) but this album, from the use of cantor and violins, seems that Mr Cohen is coming back, or deeper into, what was always his true faith

 

I’ve taken a lot of Prozac, Paxil, Wellbutrin, Effexor, Ritalin, Focalin, … I’ve also studied deeply in the philosophies and religions, but cheerfulness kept breaking through.

 

But back to the album. As you may expect from a Leonard Cohen album the lyrics are beyond sublime- challenging preconceptions

 

I heard the snake was baffled by his sin

He shed his scales to find the snake within

But born again is born without a skin

The poison enters into everything

 

And even holding up his hand and saying, maybe my truths were never true

 

It sounded like the truth

It seemed the better way

It sounded like the truth

But it’s not the truth today

 

 

Steer your heart past the Truth

You believed in yesterday

Such as Fundamental Goodness

And the Wisdom of the Way

 

 

Yet there is also an element of maybe not only were the truths untrue but also maybe one was failed by God, the image of

 

A million candles burning

For the help that never came

 

Strikes one’s core.

 

However, the album is completely devoid of any kind of bitterness or remorse or even pain. The album is, seemingly, by one who has accepted that one can never know the truth (maybe that is the truth we all seek?)

 

They’re dancing in the street – it’s Jubilee

We sold ourselves for love but now we’re free

I’m sorry for the ghost I made you be

Only one of us was real – and that was me.

 

 

And he even, with his usual brilliant humour, mocks his own revelations

 

Now I’m living in this temple

Where they tell you what to do

I’m old and I’ve had to settle

On a different point of view

 

And his own condition

 

I struggled with some demons

They were middle-class and tame

 

And indeed he may simply be

 

I’m just a fool

A dreamer who

Forgot to dream

 

This is an album written by a person who has gone far beyond the existence of many of us, of many who have been. It would not be absurd to say that maybe Leonard Cohen is one of the great religious teachers of our age and to live in the age of Leonard Cohen who, God willing, will out live all of the human race, is a great privilege

 

But if it is not to be and Mr Cohen returns to grace then the last words of the album will be a fitting epitaph for a spirit, for a soul who has touched me, for one, so deeply that my inner wine has been returned to the purity of water.

 

I wish there was a treaty we could sign

It’s over now, the water and the wine

We were broken then, but now we’re borderline

And I wish there was a treaty

I wish there was a treaty

Between your love and mine

 

 

‘till next time!

 

——

 

Feel free to drop me a line, anytime at

 

thegreaterfool2016@yahoo.com

 

Leave a comment